June 5, 2019, a regular holiday throughout PH in observance of Eid’l Fitr (Feast of Ramadhan)

As the Muslim community marks the end of Ramadhan, Malacañang announced the suspension of classes and work nationwide on June 5, 2019, Wednesday, for Eid’l Fitr (Feast of Ramadhan).

June 5, 2019, a regular holiday throughout PH in observance of Eid’l Fitr (Feast of Ramadhan) | Cebu Finest

June 5, 2019, a regular holiday throughout PH in observance of Eid’l Fitr (Feast of Ramadhan)

The regular holiday was declared by President Rodrigo Duterte through Proclamation No. 729. The Palace cited that Eid’l Fitr is celebrated by the Muslim world three days after the monthlong Ramadhan fasting. The Proclamation No. 729 was signed last May 28, 2019, Tuesday, and was released by the Malacañang on May 29, 2019, Wednesday.

On Eid’l Fitr, Muslims will gather for the congregational prayer in different mosques and open grounds to praise and thank the Almighty Allah for completing Ramadhan. There are around 6 million Muslims in the Philippines, according to official data.

Excerpt from the Proclamation No. 729 s. 2019

MALACAÑAN PALACE
MANILA

BY THE PRESIDENT OF THE PHILIPPINES

PROCLAMATION NO. 729

DECLARING WEDNESDAY, 05 JUNE 2019, A REGULAR HOLIDAY THROUGHOUT THE COUNTRY IN OBSERVANCE OF EID’L FITR (FEAST OF RAMADHAN)

“Whereas, the entire Filipino nation should have the full opportunity to join their Muslim brothers and sisters in peace and harmony in observance and celebration of Eid’l Ftr,” the proclamation read.

“Whereas, in order to bring the religious and cultural significance of the Eid’l Fre to the fore of the national consciousness, it is necessary to declare Wednesday, 5 June 2019, a regular holiday throughout the country.”

June 5, 2019, a regular holiday throughout PH in observance of Eid’l Fitr (Feast of Ramadhan) | Cebu Finest

ALSO READ: 2019 Public Holidays in the Philippines

Other regular holidays in the Philippines for 2019

President Rodrigo Duterte also signed the Proclamation No. 555 declaring the regular public holidays and special non-working days for 2019 last August 15, 2018.

The regular holidays are:

January 1, 2019, Tuesday – New Year’s Day
April 9, 2019, Tuesday – Araw ng Kagitingan
April 18, 2019 – Maundy Thursday
April 19, 2019 – Good Friday
May 1, 2019, Wednesday – Labor Day
June 12, 2019, Wednesday – Independence Day
August 26, 2019, last Monday of August – National Heroes’ Day
November 30, 2019, Saturday – Bonifacio Day
December 25, 2019, Wednesday – Christmas Day
December 30, 2019, Monday – Rizal Day

Special non-working days:

February 5, 2019, Tuesday – Chinese New Year
February 25, 2019, Monday – EDSA Revolution Anniversary
April 20, 2019 – Black Saturday
August 21, 2019, Wednesday – Ninoy Aquino Day
November 1, 2019, Friday – All Saints’ Day
December 8, 2019, Sunday – Feast of the Immaculate Conception of Mary
December 31, 2019, Tuesday – Last Day of the Year

Additional special non-working holidays:

November 2, 2019, Saturday – All Souls’ Day
December 24, 2019, Tuesday – Christmas Eve

June 5, 2019, a regular holiday throughout PH in observance of Eid’l Fitr (Feast of Ramadhan) | Cebu Finest

To get a copy of the complete version and PDF of the Proclamation No. 729 s. 2019, click here.

You may also like...

%d bloggers like this: