Plan ahead for Philippine Holidays 2018 (18 holidays and long weekends)

Prepare early for your vacations following the release of the official list of Philippine holidays, both regular and special non-working days, for 2018. President Rodrigo Duterte signed Proclamation No. 269 declaring 10 regular holidays and eight special non-working days for next year, noting several long weekends.

Plan ahead for Philippine Holidays 2018 (18 holidays and long weekends) | Cebu Finest

Plan ahead for Philippine Holidays 2018

The Philippine regular holidays for 2018 are the following:

New Year’s Day – January 1 (Monday)
Maundy Thursday – March 29
Good Friday – March 30
Araw ng Kagitingan – April 9 (Monday)
Labor Day – May 1 (Tuesday)
Independence Day – June 12 (Tuesday)
National Heroes Day – August 27 (last Monday of August)
Bonifacio Day – November 30 (Friday)
Christmas Day – December 25 (Tuesday)
Rizal Day – December 30 (Sunday)

The special non-working days are also noted on the Proclamation signed last July 17, 2017. Here are the dates:

Chinese New Year – February 16 (Friday)
EDSA People Power Revolution Anniversary – February 25 (Sunday)
Black Saturday – March 31
Ninoy Aquino Day – August 21 (Tuesday)
All Saints’ Day – November 1 (Thursday)
Last day of the year – December 31 (Monday)

Additional special holidays:

All Souls’ Day – November 2 (Friday)
Christmas Eve – December 24 (Monday)

Plan ahead for Philippine Holidays 2018 (18 holidays and long weekends) | Cebu Finest

The extra holidays were declared to “strengthen family ties” in commemorating such activities as well as promote domestic tourism. The official list, however, does not include the dates of the Eid’l Fitr and Eid’l Adha, which will be determined in accordance with the Islamic calendar. The National Commission on Muslim Filipinos has been designated to inform the Office of the President of the actual dates when the holidays will fall.

ALSO READ: 5 things to do in Cebu during long weekends

Moreover, the Department of Labor and Employment (DOLE) has been ordered to issue the implementing guidelines for the proclamation of the holidays in the country for 2018.

You can download a PDF copy of the Proclamation No. 269, s. 2017 from this website.

You may also like...