IATF places Cebu City under ECQ again, Talisay City on MECQ

Cebu City will return to Enhanced Community Quarantine (ECQ) while other parts of the province, as well as Mandaue City and Lapu-Lapu City, will be under General Community Quarantine (GCQ). While Talisay City in Cebu will again be placed under Modified Enhanced Community Quarantine (MECQ) from June 16 to June 30, 2020, due to an increase in new coronavirus cases and widespread community transmission of coronavirus disease (COVID-19).

IATF places Cebu City under ECQ again, Talisay City on MECQ | Cebu Finest

IATF places Cebu City under ECQ again, Talisay City on MECQ

According to the Inter-Agency Task Force on Emerging Infectious Diseases Management (IATF), the two cities, Cebu City and Talisay City, also recorded a consistent spike of cases in less than seven days and a significant increase in critical care utilization compared to critical care capacity.

The recommendations of the IATF contained in Resolution No. 46-A were implemented and were approved by President Rodrigo Duterte on Monday night, June 15, 2020. The President, however, said that the new quarantine classifications could still be modified after his meeting with the business community.

Aside from escalating quarantine restrictions in the cities of Cebu and Talisay, Duterte also approved the IATF recommendation to retain the General Community Quarantine (GCQ) in the entire Metro Manila.

Other areas that will remain under GCQ are:

  • Cagayan Valley (Isabela, Nueva Vizcaya, Quirino and Santiago City)
  • Central Luzon (Aurora, Bataan, Bulacan, Tarlac and Olongapo City)
  • Calabarzon (Cavite, Laguna, Batangas, Rizal, Quezon)
  • Occidental Mindoro
  • Central Visayas (Bohol, Negros Oriental, Siquijor, Mandaue City, Lapu-Lapu City and Cebu province, except Cebu City and Talisay City)
  • Zamboanga City
  • Davao City

The rest of the country will remain under Modified General Community Quarantine until June 30.

Secretary Carlito Galvez Jr., the chief implementer of the National Task Force Against COVID-19, told President Duterte that his team had observed an increase in serious cases in Cebu City. Galvez said the task force will be sending 20 ventilators and 6,000 personal protective equipment (PPE) to Cebu City on Tuesday, 16 June.

The ventilators are among the 55 machines donated by San Miguel Corporation President and CEO Ramon Ang.

Galvez said that 11 of the 15 areas with the highest cases of coronavirus infection in the country are in Cebu City. It cited Barangay Mambaling, which has more than 680 cases, and Barangay Luz, which has 216 active cases. Galvez also said the Department of Health (DOH) Secretary Francisco Duque III will also send a surveillance team to Cebu City on Wednesday, June 17.

Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG) Secretary Eduardo Año, for his part, said he will send more policemen to Cebu City to ensure strict implementation of quarantine restrictions.

Two hospitals in Cebu City, Chong Hua Hospital and Cebu Doctors University Hospital, earlier announced that they were expanding their capacities to admit coronavirus disease patients.

As of June 15, Talisay City reported 118 cases with 16 deaths.

Under an ECQ, public transport systems will be suspended and everyone will be required to stay home except essential personnel and others authorized to go out of their residence. Only essential businesses will be allowed to open, mass gatherings will be prohibited and a curfew will be enforced.

IATF places Cebu City under ECQ again, Talisay City on MECQ | Cebu Finest

ALSO READ: PayMaya enables easy cashless options for BIR, SSS, and other payments to gov’t

COVID-19 24/7 Hotlines (Central Visayas)

Department of Health Central Visayas Center for Health Development Regional Epidemiology Surveillance Unit (RESU)
0922-397-2334 / (032) 402-3091

Health Emergency Management Services (HEMS)
0943-568-3298 / 0945-157-6004 / (032) 402-1269

Provincial Government of Cebu Integrated Provincial Health Office (IPHO)
(032) 888-2329 local 1271 and 1272

Other questions relating to travel bans, curfew, and LGUs Executive Orders:

Cebu Province Public Information Office
(032) 888-2329 local 3011 and 3013

Cebu City Public Information Office
(032) 254-8632 / (032) 411-0132

Mandaue City Public Information Office
(032) 230-4500 local 1082

Lapu-Lapu City Public Information Office
(032) 260-4942

To report overpricing, hoarding, please contact the Department of Trade and Industry (DTI) Hotline:

DTI Cebu Province
(032) 255-6971 / (032) 255-2165 / (032) 255-3926

DTI Regional Office
(032) 255 0036 / (032) 255-0037

ALSO READ: DOH volunteer doctors provide video consultation via KonsultaMD

The Enhanced Community Quarantine in Cebu City will take effect on June 16, 2020, Tuesday, until June 30, 2020, Tuesday. For more details, please contact the Cebu City Public Information Office at (032) 254-8632 / (032) 411-0132, or you can visit their official Facebook Page.

  • Subscribe to the Newsletter to receive regular and exclusive updates!
  • Be a Fan! Like us on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter.
  • Watch our videos on YouTube.
  • Please support us and help us continue what we love to do. Donate to PayPal.
  • Be one with the Writer’s Circle! Join our Team.